Pyramids On Mars Latest Album ‘Edge of Black’ Set For Release

PYRAMIDS ON MARS is guitarist Kevin Estrella who offers an aural palette of intense, emotional, 4-dimensional, melodic instrumental rock/ metal infusing a range of influences of Baroque classical composers J.S Bach and Antonio Vivaldi with today’s guitar virtuosos Yngwie Malmsteen and Joe Satriani.

PYRAMIDS ON MARS latest album name  ‘EDGE OF THE BLACK’ set for release December 21, 2019, to follow 2015’s full length titled Echo Cosmic, and 2013 debut self-titled Pyramids on Mars.

“I honestly think “EDGE OF THE BLACK” will do for this decade what Joe Satriani’s ‘Surfing With The Alien’ did for instrumental rock back in the ’80s.  It captures the same passion, energy, and melodic hooks, yet it has an updated sound.  It is no secret I am heavily influenced by the band Rush.  They are a part of my circuitry.

“EDGE OF THE BLACK sounds like if Joe Satriani/Yngwie Malmsteen joined Rush.” – Kevin Estrella

Featuring ten tracks of emotionally high energy music that mostly seemed to write itself, coming literally from the Edge of the Black.  The Edge of the Universe, where nothingness and everything exists.  The album as a whole pays homage to some of Estrella’s biggest influences while still staying true to himself and his own creations. “On EDGE OF THE BLACK, I wanted to put emphasis on songwriting.  Telling a story.  Each song tells a story its hard not to visualize as it takes you on a trip.  The emphasis is not just on the lead guitar melody but on the band as a whole.  Harmonic variations on repeating themes is strongly utilized.  Like Rhyming phrases in spoken language that allow easier accurate retelling of the original story.  This idea of repeating music phrases/themes so the audience can easily recall it and ‘hum it all the way home.’   I set the intent of a desire to feel the story within the physical body of the audience. Welcome to the EDGE OF THE BLACK

Track List

  1. Blood Moon
  2. Nacht Waffen
  3. Song of Light
  4. F-22 Raptor
  5. The Ambassador
  6. Mercury Magnetar
  7. Arcturian Rain
  8. Time to Believe
  9. Arioso Lullaby
  10. Whale Song



Music from the Mystical Red Planet



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here